Home » Formula One » F1 2008 01 Australian Grand Prix » F1 2008 Australian Grand Prix Highlights 1996 – 2007

F1 2008 Australian Grand Prix Highlights 1996 – 2007

2007 – Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari
Raikkonen won on his Ferrari debut after starting on pole. Alonso was second for McLaren with debutant Hamilton, who overtook his Spanish team mate at the start, third after leading for four laps. Ferrari’s Felipe Massa started at the back of the grid due to an engine change and finished sixth.
2006 – Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault
Alonso took his second win of the season in an incident-packed race. Ferrari’s Michael Schumacher and team mate Felipe Massa both crashed. Jenson Button started on pole and failed to finish after his engine caught fire.
2005 – Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault
Fisichella’s second career win came from pole after a rain-hit qualifying. Schumacher started on the back row and retired after a collision with German compatriot Nick Heidfeld. Alonso roared from 13th to third. Raikkonen started from the pitlane after stalling on the grid.
2004 – Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari
Ferrari ran away with the season-opener after blitzing their rivals in practice. Schumacher started on pole and set the fastest lap. He went on to equal Nigel Mansell’s 1992 feat of winning the first five races of the season.
2003 – David Coulthard (Britain) McLaren
Coulthard’s 13th win ended Ferrari and Schumacher’s record run of success. Schumacher finished outside the top three for the first time since 2001. Ferrari had enjoyed 53 successive podiums up to then.
Interesting Facts
The Australian Grand Prix was first held in 1985 on a street circuit in Adelaide and was the last race of each season. In 1996, it switched to Melbourne’s Albert Park and the start of the season.
The circuit can be dusty and is tough on brakes. Drivers approach the first corner at more than 300 kph.
Australian Grands Prix have been dramatic and 1991 was the shortest race in Formula One history, stopped after 14 laps because of heavy rain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *